Secretariat Report to the Eleventh Plenary Meeting of ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 2,
Singapore, Singapore, 2001-10-18/19

|1. Administrative | 2. Meeting | 3. Personnel | 4. Programme of Work |

1. Administrative

1.1 Title
Coded Character Sets

1.2 Scope
Standardization of graphic character sets and their characteristics, associated control functions, their coded representation for information interchange and code extension techniques. Excluded: audio and picture coding.

1.3 Chairman
Professor Kohji Shibano
Institute for the Study of Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa
Tokyo University of Foreign Studies
4-51-21, Nishigahara, Kita-ku,
Tokyo 114-8580

Tel:     + 81 3 5974 3813
Fax:    + 81 3 5974 3838

1.4 Secretariat
Attn.: Toshiko Kimura
Room 308-3, Kikai-shinko-kaikan
Minato-ku, Shiba-koen,
Tokyo 105-0011

Tel:    +81 3 3431 2808
Fax:   +81 3 3431 6493

1.5 Membership

1.5.1  P - Members (35)
Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Dem. P. Rep. of Korea, Republic of Korea, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, USA, Yugoslavia

1.5.2  O -  Members (11)
Brazil, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, Estonia, Hong Kong - China, Hungary, Indonesia, Malaysia, Portugal, Viet Nam

1.5.3  L - Members
 Internal Liaison (9)
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 22 Programming languages, their environments and system software interfaces
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 31 Automatic identification and data capture techniques
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 32 Data management and interchange
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 35 User interfaces
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 36 Learning technology
ISO/TC 46/SC 2 Conversion of written languages
ISO/TC 46/SC 4 Computer applications in information and documentation
ISO/TC 211 Geographic information/Geomatics
IEC/SC 3B Documentation

External Liaison (15)
CCSD Consultative Committee on Space Data Systems  B
CEC Commission of European Communities  A
CEN/TC304 European Localization Requirements
GSE Guide Share Europe C
HK ITF Hong Kong Information Technology Federation  C
ISOC Internet Society A
ITU-T  International Telecommunication Union - Telecommunication Standardization Sector  A
TCA Taipei Computer Association  C
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development A
UNICODE The Unicode Consortium  C
UNU/IIST  United Nations University International Institute for Software Technologies C
U-ECE/WP4 United Nations Economic Commission for Europe A
W3C World Wide Web Consortium C
WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization  B
WMO World Meteorological Organization  B

1.6 Working Group Structure:

1.6.1 Working Group 2: Multiple-Octet Codes

Mr. Mike Ksar (Appointed : 2000-09)
Senior Program Manager
International Standards Strategy
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA 98052

Tel: +1 425 707-6973
Fax: +1 425 936-7329

Secretariat :ANSI

Area of Work

To standardize multiple-octet codes.

Programme of Work

Ideographic Rapporteur Group (IRG)

Mr. Zhang, Zhoucai (Appointed 2000-09)
CCID, IRG No.14, 3/F, ZhiXinCun XiaoQu,
Haidian District
Beijing 100083
Tel:  +8610 6232 2178  / +8610 6234 0198
Fax: +8610)6231 2924

1.6.2 Working Group 3: 7-bit and 8-bit codes and their extension

Mr. Evangelos Melagrakis (Appointed: 2000-09)
Acharnon 313
GR-111 45 ATHENS
Tel: +30 1 201 50 25
Fax: +30 1 292 59 17

Secretariat: ELOT

Area of Work

To standardize 7-bit and 8-bit codes

Programme of Work

1.7 Project Editors/Contributing Editors (active projects only):
02.18.01 (10646-1) WG 2 Mr. Michel Suignard
02.18.02 (10646-2) WG 2 Mr. Michel Suignard
02.04 (2375) WG 3 Mr. Michael Everson
02.14.01/02 (6937) WG 3 Mr. Keld Simonsen
02.20.07 (8859-7) WG 3 Mr. Evangelos E. Melagrakis
02.20.11 (8859-11) WG 3 Mr. Johan W. van Wingen
Mr. Surayuth Boonmatat

1.8 Contributing Editors (active projects only):
02.18.01 (10646-1)  WG 2 Mr. Chen, Zhuang
Mr. Michael Everson
Dr. Asmus Freytag
Mr. Keld Simonsen
Dr. Ken Whistler
Mr. Zhang, Zhoucai
02.18.02 (10646-2)  WG 2 Mr. Chen, Zhuang
Mr. Michael Everson
Dr. Asmus Freytag
Dr. Ken Whistler
Mr. Zhang, Zhoucai
02.20 (8859) WG 3 Mr. Karl Iver Larsson

1.9 Liaison Representatives:
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 22 Mr. Arnold Winkler
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 31 Mr. Karl Ivar Larsson
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 32 Mr. Kohji Shibano
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 35 Mr. Alain LaBonté
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 36 Mr. Shigenobu Katoh
ISO/TC 46/SC 4 Mr. Michael Everson
GSE Mr. Alain LaBonté
ISOC Mr. Keld Simonsen
ITU-T Mr. Evangelos Melagrakis (interim)
CEN/TC 304 Mr. Keld Simonsen, Mr. Mike Ksar
Unicode Mr. Mike Ksar
W3C Mr. Mike Ksar