PROCEEDING OF MEETING OF MEETEI MAYEK EXPERT COMMITTEE HELD ON 17-07-2008 IN THE OFFICE CHAMBER OF THE HON'BLE MINISTER/EDUCATION, MANIPUR AT 3 P.M. WITH THE HON'BLE MINISTER IN THE CHAIR.

MEMBER PRESENT

- 1. N. Debala Devi, Director/SCERT.
- 2. Ng. Yumjao, President/MEELAL.
- 3. M. Naokhamba, Secretary General/MEELAL.
- 4. A. Romen Singh, Project Officer/SCERT.
- 5. A. Tomba Meetei, National Awardee, Tera Bazar.
- 6. Dr. W. Romesh, Singjamei Waikhom Leikai.
- 7. P. Gaishinglung, Representative (Hills)/MEELAL.

The Committee discussed minutely on the latest proposal of the Unicode Consortium vide letter of Lisa Moore, Chair, Unicode Technical Committee dated June 18, 2008 wherein Meetei Mayek is proposed to be encoded in two separate structures: a) **Meetei Mayek** of 56 characters as recognized by the Government of Manipur, and b) **Meetei Mayek Extended** of 16 characters which are not recognized by the Government of Manipur.

After in-depth deliberation, the Committee resolved the following unanimously.

- Resolution 1. Meetei Mayek should be encoded to Unicode Standard only as per recognized by the Government of Manipur.
- Resolution 2. The Meetei Mayek Extended Block of 16 characters which are not recognized by the Government of Manipur must not be encoded to Unicode Standard to avoid irregularities in Manipuri Writing System.

Resolution 3. The above two Resolutions should be conveyed to: a)
Unicode Consortium, and b) Ministry of
Communications and Information Technology,
Government of India for further necessary action.

Sd/-(L. Jayantakumar Singh) Minister (Education), Manipur

Memo No. 10/16/92-ED(Pt-VI) Copy to:- Dated the 18th July,2008

- 1. The P.S. to the Hon'ble Minister/Education, Manipur.
- 2. The A.P.S. to the Commissioner/Education(S), Govt. of Manipur.
- 3. The A.P.S. to the Director/Education(S), Govt. of Manipur.
- 4. The Director/SCERT, Manipur.
- 5. The Secretary/BSEM.
- 6. Dr. M. S. Ningomba, Retd. Prof./Manipur University.
- 7. Ng. Kangjia, Retd. Principal/Presidency College.
- 8. Prof.(Dr.) P. Gunindro Singh, Department of Manipuri, Manipur University.
- 9. Ayekpam Tomba Meetei, National Awardee, Tera Bazar.
- 10.Dr. Th. Laiba, Modern College, Imphal.
- 11.Dr. W. Romesh, Singjamei Waikhom Leikai.
- 12.Ng. Yumjao, President/MEELAL.
- 13.M. Naokhamba Meetei, Secretary General/MEELAL.
- 14.Md. Manawar Ali, Mayang Imphal, Representative/Minorities.
- 15. Gaishinglung Pamei, Keikhu, Representative/Hills.
- 16. Paolenmang Kipgen, Saikul, Representative/Hills.
- 17.Ms. Lisa Moore, Chair, Unicode Technical Committee Mountain View, CA 94039-1476, USA. She is requested to take further necessary action as per the Resolutions adopted by the Government of Manipur.

18.Smt. Swaran Lata, Director & Head, Human Centred Computing Division, Department of Information Technology, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India Electronic Niketan, 6, C.G.O. Complex, New Delhi -110 003. She is requested to advise the Unicode Consortium as per the Resolutions adopted by the government of Manipur.

19.Guard File.

(L. Mahabir Singh)
Convenor: Meetei Mayek Expert
Committee
Joint Director (Languages)
Directorate of Education(S)
Government of Manipur.