Proceedings of the meeting of Language/Meetei Mayek Expert Committee held on 17/11/2012 at 11 A.M. in the Office Chamber of Hon'ble Minister, Education, Manipur with the Hon'ble Minister, Education in the Chair.

## **Member Present:**

- 1. Shri P. Vaiphei, IAS, Commissioner, (Hr.&Tech. Edn./SCERT & Adult Edn.), Govt. of Manipur.
- 2. Shri H. Deleep Singh, IAS, Director/ Education(S), Govt. of Manipur.
- 3. Shri P. Dhanakumar Singh, IPS, Chairman/BOSEM.
- 4. Shri H. Mathang Singh, MCS, Dy.Secy/ Edn.(S) Govt. of Manipur.
- 5. Smt. N. Debala Devi, Director/SCERT.
- 6. Dr. H. Nabachandra Singh, Secretary/COHSEM.
- 7. Shri L. Rajmohan Singh, Secretary, BOSEM.
- 8. A. Romel Singh, H.O.O./D.D.O.(SCERT)
- 9. Dr. W. Romesh, Asst. Prof./G.P. Womens' College.
- 10. Sh. Tomba Mangang, President/MEELAL.
- 11. M. Naokhamba Meetei, Vice- President/MEELAL.
- 12. P. Thakaba Meetei, Secretary General/MEELAL.
- 13. W. Gojen Meetei, Finance Secretary/MEELAL.
- 14. M. Shivadutta Luwang, Editor/Hueiyen Lanpao.

With the permission of the Hon'ble Minister, the meeting started with an introductory speech from the Director of Education(S) who briefed the members present about the agenda put forward for discussion.

The Committee constituted/decided the following after in-depth deliberation.

- 1. It is decided to constitute a Sub-Committee to look into the different aspects and issues relating to conduct of Teachers Eligibility Test for Meetei Mayek (a test on Meetei Mayek proficiency) with the following members:
  - i) Dr. H. Nabachandra Singh, Secretary/COHSEM Convenor
  - ii) L. Rajmohan Singh, Secretary/BOSEM Member
  - iii) Dr. L. Mahabir Singh, Joint Director(Language Cell)-Member
  - iv) A. Romel Singh, H.O.O./D.D.O.(SCERT) Member
  - v) Babodhon Sapamcha, Jt. Secy.(Academic)/COHSEM -Member
  - vi) Dr. W. Romesh, Asst. Prof./G.P. Womens College Member
  - vii) M. Shivadutta Luwang, Editor/Hueiyen Lanpao Member
  - viii) Sh. Tomba Mangang, President/MEELAL Memberix) M. Naokhamba Meetei, Vice- President/MEELAL Member
  - x) P. Thakaba Meetei, Secretary General/MEELAL Member
  - xi) W. Gojen Meetei, Finance Secretary/MEELAL Member

Contd...2/-

The Sub-Committee was advised to prepare criteria and module for the Test and submit a comprehensive report to the Committee in 20 days time.

- 2. The Sub-Committee was also advised to examine the ways and means as to how the proposal of compulsory learning of MIL up to Class X could be carried out within the framework of NCF-2005.
- 3. SCERT will prepare a comprehensive proposal to conduct a Meetei Mayek Orientation Program for in-service Graduate Teachers and submit to the Committee at an early date.
- 4. Production of Manipuri Textbooks for Classes IX and X in Meetei Mayek and Roman script should be done by the Board of Secondary Education, Manipur and made available the textbooks so transcribed, well ahead of the commencement of School Session 2013.
- 5. The Unicode Standard that has uploaded on the internet some unrecognized Meetei Mayek characters (Meetei Mayek Extensions) besides the Meetei Mayek characters recognized by the Govt. of Manipur should be informed to delete all the unrecognized Meetei Mayek characters to avoid any controversy.
- 6. Administrative Department/Education(S) will take initiative for amendment of Manipur State Official Language Act-1979/Clause 2(f).
- 7. Next meeting of the Committee is fixed on 17<sup>th</sup> December, 2012 at11 a.m. at the Chamber of the Hon'ble Minister/Education, Manipur.

Sd/-

(M. Okendro)
Minister/Education(S), Manipur
Chairman
Language/Meetei Mayek Expert Committee

Memo No. No. 10/15/92-ED(Pt-VI):

Dated 19<sup>th</sup> November, 2012

## Copy to:-

- 1. The P.P.S. to the Hon'ble Minister, /Education, Manipur.
- 2. The Principal Secretary/Education(S), Govt. of Manipur.
- 3. Shri P. Vaiphei, IAS, Commissioner,(Hr.&Tech. Edn./SCERT & Adult Edn.), Govt. of Manipur.
- 4. Shri H. Deleep Singh, IAS, Director/ Education(S), Govt. of Manipur.
- 5. Shri P. Dhanakumar Singh, IPS, Chairman/BOSEM.
- 6. Shri H. Mathang Singh, MCS, Dy.Secy/ Edn.(S) Govt. of Manipur.
- 7. Smt. N. Debala Devi, Director/SCERT.
- 8. Dr. H. Nabachandra Singh, Secretary/COHSEM.
- 9. Shri L. Rajmohon Singh, Secretary, BOSEM.
- 10. A. Romel Singh, H.O.O./D.D.O.(SCERT)
- 11. Dr. W. Romesh, Asst. Prof./G.P. Womens' College.
- 12. Sh. Tomba Mangang, President/MEELAL.
- 13. M. Naokhamba Meetei, Vice- President/MEELAL.
- 14. P. Thakaba Meetei, Secretary General/MEELAL.
- 15. W. Gojen Meetei, Finance Secretary/MEELAL.
- 16. M. Shivadutta Luwang, Editor/Hueiyen Lanpao.
- 17. Prof.(Dr.) P. Gunindro Singh, Head/ Deptt. of Manipuri, M.U.
- 18. Prof.(Dr.) M. S. Ningomba, Deptt. of Linguistics, M.U.
- 19. Ng. Kangjia, Retd. Principal, Precidency College.
- 20. Kh. Chandrakanta Meetei, Education Secretary/ MEELAL.
- 21. Y. Biren Meetei, Organization Secretary/ MEELAL.

L. Mahabir Singh
Joint Director (Language Cell)
Directorate of Education(S)
Government of Manipur
Convenor
Language/Meetei Mayek Expert Committee