[Unicode] Consortium Tech Site | Site Map | Search

Unicode® Editorial Committee

The Unicode Editorial Committee is broadly responsible for the editorial tasks of the Unicode Consortium. The goal of the Editorial Committee is to assist all of the Unicode Consortium members, officers, and staff in providing uniformly high quality documentation, and to make it easy for enterprises and communities worldwide to access and use the Consortium's freely available specifications and data.

The Editorial Committee works closely with the technical committees of the Unicode Consortium, which are responsible for the content of the various technical specifications of the Consortium. The Editorial Committee assists the members of those technical committees and the individual authors and editors of technical specifications in the final editing and publication of those specifications.

The Unicode officers have also delegated responsibility to the Editorial Committee for the overall maintenance of the content of the Unicode technical website, including policies, FAQs, and all other general information on the site.

Over the years, many individuals have contributed to the technical specifications of the Unicode Consortium and to other content of the Unicode website, whether as authors of original proposals archived in the UTC Document Register, by feedback on Public Review Issues, through email, forums, and technical committee discussions, or by other formal feedback. Details about these many contributors can be found at Acknowledgements.


The Editorial Committee meets face-to-face on a regular basis, usually one day a month, or as needed, depending on current workload. It also holds periodic, shorter teleconferences devoted to specific editorial tasks.

Note: During the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic crisis, until further notice, all Editorial Committee meetings are held via teleconference or video conference.

Editorial Committee Regular Participants

Regular participants in the Editorial Committee attend the meetings on an ongoing basis, either in person or via teleconference, and regularly assist in the direct editorial maintenance of various documents and web pages. Current regular participants include:

Editorial Committee Regular Participants

Julie D. Allen (Chair) Ken Lunde
Deborah Anderson Rick McGowan
Fred Brennan Lisa Moore
Christopher Chapman Markus Scherer
Richard Cook Michel Suignard
Richard Ishida Ken Whistler (Vice-Chair)
Liang Hai (梁海) Ben Yang

Contributing Editors

In addition to the regular participants in the Editorial Committee, many individuals contribute to the editorial work of the Unicode Consortium as editors or co-editors of particular technical specifications. These contributing editors are responsible for the ongoing editorial maintenance of these specifications and also occasionally join the Editorial Committee meetings for final editorial work on their documents. Note that editorial work on UTS #35 is handled specifically by the CLDR-TC.

The list of contributing editors changes from time to time as new specifications are created or editorial responsibility changes hands. The current list of contributing editors for specifications in active development and maintenance is:

Contributing Editors

Editor Specification(s)
Christopher Chapman UAX #14; UAX #29
Richard Cook UAX #38; UTS #37
Mark Davis UAX #9, UAX #29, UAX #31; UTS #18, UTS #22, UTS #35 Part 1, UTS #39, UTS #46, UTS #51; UTR #36
Peter Edberg UTS #35 Part 4, UTS #51
John Emmons UTS #35 Part 3
Lorna Evans UTR #53
Asmus Freytag UTR #23
Andrew Glass UAX #9
Bob Hallissy UTR #53
Laurențiu Iancu UAX #41, UAX #44
Richard Ishida UTR #20
Koji Ishii UAX #50
John Jenkins UAX #38, UAX #45; UTS #37
Aharon Lanin UAX #9
Steven Loomis UTS #35 Parts 6 and 7
Ken Lunde UAX #11, UAX #38, UAX #50; UTS #37
Rick McGowan UAX #41 (and dormant specifications not in current maintenance)
Eric Muller UAX #42
Roozbeh Pournader UTR #53
Murray Sargent III UTR #25
Markus Scherer UTS #10, UTS #22, UTS #35 Part 5, UTS #46
Michel Suignard UTS #39, UTS #46; UTR #36
Yoshito Umaoka UTS #35 Part 2
Ken Whistler UAX #15, UAX #24, UAX #34, UAX #44; UTS #10; UTR #23, UTR #54

Core Specification Editors

The core specification has benefited by the participation of many authors, editors, and reviewers over the years. Acknowledgements and editor lists for early versions can be found at the Archive of Unicode Versions. The following individuals are primarily responsible for the ongoing, current maintenance of the core specification.

Current Core Specification Editors

Editor Role(s)
Julie Allen Senior Editor
Debbie Anderson Contributing Editor
Joe Becker Index Editor
Mark Davis Contributing Editor
Peter Edberg Contributing Editor
Laurențiu Iancu Contributing Editor
Liang Hai (梁海) Contributing Editor
Ken Lunde Contributing Editor
Rick McGowan Figures Editor, Font Wrangler
Lisa Moore Contributing Editor
Roozbeh Pournader Contributing Editor
Ken Whistler Managing Editor

Code Charts Editors

The code charts for the Unicode Standard constitute a specialized area of editorial expertise. They are maintained in synchrony with the published code charts for ISO/IEC 10646, so require close cooperation with the project editor for that standard. The processing of the Unicode names list and the large collection of fonts necessary for the code charts production is done with custom layout tooling known as Unibook. Many people help in the review of all the content in the code charts, but the following individuals are primarily responsible for the ongoing editing, production, and presentation of the code charts on this website:

Code Charts Editors

Editor Role(s)
Joe Becker Editor, Character Index
Mark Davis Co-editor, Auxiliary Charts
Asmus Freytag Author and maintainer of Unibook
Laurențiu Iancu Co-editor, Auxiliary Charts
Richard Ishida Editor, Code Charts Index
Rick McGowan Project lead, code charts; manager, chart fonts repository
Michel Suignard ISO/IEC 10646 Project Editor; Editor, code charts
Ken Whistler Editor, names list annotations; QA control

Data File Editors

The maintenance of the versioned data files posted in the Public directory of the Unicode website is another specialized area of editorial expertise. The following individuals are currently responsible for the ongoing maintenance of these data files. Note that this listing does not cover the data files associated with the Common Locale Data Repository (CLDR), which is maintained with complex processes and tools managed by the CLDR-TC.

Data File Editors

Editor Data Areas
Mark Davis UCD, emoji, idna, security
Peter Edberg emoji
Laurențiu Iancu UCD, math
John Jenkins UCD (Unihan)
Eric Muller UCD in XML
Roozbeh Pournader UCD, security
Markus Scherer UCA, UCD
Michel Suignard ISO/IEC 10646 data
Ken Whistler UCD, UCA

Other Editors

There are other specialized editors who focus on particular subareas of the Unicode website. These other editors and their roles are:

Other Editors

Editor Area of Focus
Mark Davis CLDR-TC Chair; Co-editor, CLDR-TC subsite
Co-editor, Emoji subsite
Jennifer Daniel Emoji SC Chair; Co-editor, Emoji subsite
Ned Holbrook Emoji SC Vice Chair; Co-editor, Emoji subsite
Kristi Lee CLDR-TC Vice Chair; Co-editor, CLDR-TC subsite
Ken Lunde IVD Registrar; Editor, IVD Registry
Emoji SC Vice Chair; Co-editor, Emoji subsite
Eric Muller Editor, UDHR in Unicode
Markus Scherer ICU-TC Chair; Co-editor, ICU-TC subsite
ISO 15924 (Script Codes) Registrar; Editor, ISO 15924 Registry
V.S. UMAmaheswaran Lead Editor, Unicode Roadmap
Yoshito Umaoka ICU-TC Vice Chair; Co-editor, ICU-TC subsite