New Emoji Subcommittee Vice-Chairs

From: <>
Date: Wed, 30 Aug 2017 17:01:13 -0700

silhouette imageThe Emoji Subcommittee (ESC) is on the front lines of
Unicode emoji. It is responsible for accepting requests for new emoji
and emoji sequences, helping requesters to fill out missing areas in
their proposals, and providing prioritized recommendations to the
Unicode Technical Committee.

Peter Edberg is stepping down as the co-chair of ESC, a role he has
filled since its inception. He is one of the key people involved in
Unicode emoji since the very beginning, so we are very lucky that he
will continue as one of the technical leaders of ESC, and remain the
co-author of “Unicode Emoji” (UTS #51). To ensure the smooth operation
of the ESC, we have three eminently-qualified new vice-chairs: Jeremy
Burge, who has been responsible for crafting and refining proposals from
the most popular requests received at Emojipedia; Jennifer 8 Lee, who
has played a pivotal role in developing, inspiring, and mentoring emoji
requests through Emojination; and Tayfun Karadeniz, who has researched,
organized, and shepherded emoji in the very popular areas of smileys and
human-form emoji. All three have already made lasting contributions to
the work of the ESC, and we welcome them in their new roles.

— Mark Davis, ESC chair

/Over 100,000 characters are available for adoption
<>, to help the
Unicode Consortium’s work on digitally disadvantaged languages./

[fortune cookie badge]

All of the Unicode Consortium lists are strictly opt-in lists for members
or interested users of our standards. We make every effort to remove
users who do not wish to receive e-mail from us. To see why you are getting
this mail and how to remove yourself from our lists if you want, please
Received on Wed Aug 30 2017 - 19:09:22 CDT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Wed Aug 30 2017 - 19:09:32 CDT