[Unicode]  Acknowledgements Home | Site Map | Search

Font Contributors Acknowledgements

Fonts are essential for the production of The Unicode Standard. The Unicode Consortium would like to acknowledge the contributions made since the publication of the first version of the standard by numerous font designers and font vendors in the preparation of the standard, as well as in the preparation of the online code charts.

Contributing Font Vendors

Individual Font Contributors

  • For Arabic additions: Sarmad Hussain and Kamal Mansour
  • For Arabic math and symbols: Azzeddine Lazrek
  • For Armenian additions: Michael Stone
  • For archaic Roman additions: David Perry
  • For Balinese: Yayasan Bali Simbar, I Made Suatjana, and Jason Glavy
  • For Bamum: Michael Everson and Jason Glavy
  • For Bengali additions: Anshuman Pandey
  • For Bopomofo additions: Andrew West
  • For Brahmi: Michael Everson and Andrew Glass
  • For Braille: Cora Chang
  • For Cherokee: Al Webster
  • For CJK compatibility ideographs: Michel Suignard
  • For Common Indic Number Forms: Anshuman Pandey
  • For Coptic additions: Dirk VanDamme
  • For Cuneiform: Steve Tinney and Michael Everson
  • For Cyrillic additions: Ralph Clemison and Alexey Kryukov
  • For Devanagari additions: CDAC Mumbai
  • For diacritical marks: Mindaugas Strockis, SIL International, and Vilnius University
  • For Egyptian Hieroglyphs: Michael Everson and Bob Richmond
  • For Georgian: Anton Dumbadze and Irakli Garibashvili
  • For Greek: Yannis Haralambous, James Kass, Raymond Mercier, and David Perry
  • For Gurmukhi additions: Kulbir Thind
  • For Hangul Jamo additions: Dae Hyuk Ahn
  • For Javanese: Michael Everson and Jason Glavy
  • For Kaithi: Anshuman Pandey
  • For Kana additions: Nozomu Katō and Japan NB
  • For KangXi and CJK  radicals: John Jenkins
  • For Kharoshthi: Andrew Glass
  • For Lao: Ngakham Southichack
  • For Latin Additions: Karl Pentzlin, Andreas Stötzner
  • For Lepcha: Jason Glavy and Ka‘o¯ nohi Kai
  • For Limbu: K. Yarang, J. R. Pandhak, Y. Lawoti, and Y. P. Yakwa
  • For Lisu: David Morse
  • For Mandaic: Michael Everson and Brian Mubaraki
  • For Mongolian additions: Andrew West
  • For New Tai Lue: Victor Gaultney
  • For Old South Arabian: Sultan Maktari
  • For Old Turkic: Michael Everson and Wushour Silamu
  • For Oriya additions: Anshuman Pandey
  • For Phags-pa:  Andrew West
  • For Philippine scripts: Hector Santos
  • For Phonetic additions: Juhani Lehtirant, Peter Martin
  • For punctuation: David Perry
  • For Rumi numerals: Jim DeLaHunt, Azzeddine Lazrek
  • For Runic: Svante Lagman
  • For Saurashtra: Jeyakumar Chinnakkonda Krishnamoorty and Michael Everson
  • For Sindhi/Urdu numbers: Sarmad Hussain and Paul Nelson
  • For symbol additions: Patrick Andries, Leonid Broukhis, David Faulks, Wallace Hooper, Laurentiu Iancu, Azzeddine Lazrek, Karl Pentzlin, Michel Suignard, India, MIT, and University of Virginia Press
  • For Syriac: Yannis Haralambous, Sarmad Hussain, George Kiraz, and Paul Nelson
  • For Tai Le: Stephen Morey and Michael Everson
  • For Tai Viet: Lo Mai Cương,  James Đỗ, and Ngô Trung Việt
  • For Tamil additions: Muthu Nedumara
  • For Thai: Yannis Haralambous
  • For Tibetan additions: Chris Fynn and Andrew West
  • For Tifinagh: Patrick Andries
  • For Vai: Jason Glavy and Michael Everson
  • For Vedic extensions: Michael Everson and CDAC Mumbai
  • For Yi: Oliver Corff

Additional Information

The fonts for CJK Extensions A and B were designed by Technical Supervisor Zheng Long and Hua Weicang of Zhong Yi Electronic Co. Yang Song Jin of the Pyongyang Informatics Centre (DPR of Korea) provided the CJK compatibility symbols. The fonts for Extension C were provided by Founder Corporation and CMEX and IMC, DGBAS Executive Yuan. The fonts for Extension D were provided by Founder Corporation.

To publish the multi-column Han charts for Unicode Version 6.0, 33 separate fonts were provided by Adobe Systems, Apple Computer, IBM, Microsoft, and by the following entities on behalf of the respective members of the JTC1/SC2/WG2 Ideographic Rapporteur Group (IRG):

  • China: Founder Corporation and Chinese Electronics Standardization Institute (CESI)
  • Hong Kong SAR: DynaComware and HKSARG
  • Japan: RYOBI Limited
  • Korea (DPRK): PIC
  • Korea (ROK): Seoul System Co
  • Macau SAR: Founder Corporation
  • Taiwan Computing Association: Chinese Foundation for Digitization Technology
  • (CMEX) and IMC, DGBAS Executive Yuan
  • Vietnam: VNPF Nom Na Group

The font used in Appendix F "Documentation of CJK Strokes" was provided by Tom Bishop and Richard Cook using Wenlin Software.

Michael Everson (Evertype) designed many fonts including Arabic additions, Avestan, Canadian Syllabics additions, Batak, Carian, Cham, Imperial Aramaic, Inscriptional Pahlavi, Inscriptional Parthian, Kayah Li, Linear B, Lycian, Lydian, Meetei Mayek, N'Ko, Ogham, Ol Chiki, Old Persian, Osmanya, Phaistos Disc, Rejang, Samaritan, Sundanese, and Tai Tham, plus additional symbols, Bopomofo, Devanagari, Malayalam, Myanmar, New Tai Lue, Oriya, Phoenician, Telugu, and Tibetan additions, and Latin, Greek, Coptic, and Cyrillic characters.

John M. Fiscella (Production First Software) designed the fonts for symbols and many of the European alphabetic scripts. Thomas Milo (DecoType) designed the Naskh-style Arabic font. SIL International contributed several fonts designed by Jonathan Kew (Arabic and Devanagari additions), as well as diacritic modifier letters, Cyrillic, Ethiopic, Latin, New Tai Lue, and Tifinagh additions, and Myanmar additions for Khamti Shan and Aiton. Asmus Freytag created many individual glyphs for symbols or special characters. Patrick Andries (Hapax) designed the font for Tifinagh. Tiro Typeworks contributed fonts for letterlike symbols. Apple Computer contributed many symbol fonts among others in addition to CJK fonts and others as well.

Critical comments and work on fonts are due to Barbara Beeton and Patrick Ion (Mathematical Symbols), Dr. Sarmad Hussain (Urdu), Heidi Jenkins, Roozbeh Pournader (Farsi), Dr. Virach Sornlertlamvanich (Thai), and many others.

Michel Suignard worked to acquire and organize the most recent font collection with support from Michael Everson and Rick McGowan, who manages the consortium's font repository. They have further developed the prior collections of fonts assembled by Asmus Freytag and John Jenkins.

More fonts were donated than are used in the most recent version of the character code charts. Some fonts are used for examples and tables in the text of the Standard. Many individuals and organizations provided fonts used during development of the standard, especially for drafts of new character additions.

In case of changes in corporate name or affiliation, the most recently available information is shown, even if it differs from the information at time of font contribution.

This document is continually updated and acknowledges font contributions independently of the corresponding version of the code charts.