[Unicode]  Acknowledgements Home | Site Map | Search

Acknowledgements of Standards Organizations

The Unicode Consortium maintains mutually beneficial relationships with a number of international standards organizations.

INCITS L2 Technical Committee

The Unicode Consortium works closely with Technical Committee L2 of the InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS). We appreciate the cooperation of Chairs Eric Muller and Craig Cummings, Vice-Chair Lisa Moore, and International Representatives Deborah Anderson and Michel Suignard. Rick McGowan efficiently maintains the Web-based repository of L2 documents so crucial to the Consortium's ongoing technical work.


We appreciate the efforts and support of the members of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC2/WG2 and the members of the Ideographic Rapporteur Group toward the common goal of keeping the Unicode Standard and ISO/IEC 10646 synchronized. We would particularly like to thank the Convener of WG2, Mike Ksar; the Rapporteur of the IRG, Dr. Lu Qin, the 10646 Editor, Michel Suignard, and the Contributing Editors, Michael Everson, Asmus Freytag, John Jenkins, Lu Qin, Rick McGowan, and Ken Whistler. We thank Peter Constable and Asmus Freytag for their effective representation of the Unicode Consortium at WG2 meetings. We also would like to thank the OWG Sort Working Group of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC2, especially the ISO 14651 Editor, Alain LaBonté and Contributing Editor, Ken Whistler, for their work with the Consortium on a common collation definition.

W3C Internationalization Working Group

We have benefited greatly from close collaboration with the Internationalization Working Group of the W3C. We appreciate its many contributions and especially wish to thank its Chair, Addison Phillips, and Richard Ishida and Martin Dürst for timely and thorough review of and improvements to new proposals.


The IETF has contributed significantly to the adoption of Unicode in worldwide Internet applications. We appreciate its efforts and collaboration with the Consortium, and would particularly like to thank Harald Alvestrand, Vint Cerf, Lisa Dussault, Patrik Fältström, Carey Karp, and John Klensin for their efforts to increase the use of Unicode in IETF specifications.

Access to Copyright and terms of use