[Unicode]   Technical Notes

Unicode Technical Note #10

An Introduction to Indic Scripts

Version 1
Authors Richard Ishida
Date 15 August 2003
This Version http://www.unicode.org/notes/tn10/tn10-1.html
Previous Version none
Latest Version http://www.unicode.org/notes/tn10


This paper provides an introduction to the major Indic scripts used on the Indian mainland. Those addressed in this paper include specifically Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Kannada, Malayalam, Oriya, Tamil, and Telugu.

The paper tackles the subject in two parts:

  1. a survey of the visual characteristics of these scripts
  2. a summary of key practical implications for supporting Indic scripts using Unicode


This document is a Unicode Technical Note. It is supplied purely for informational purposes and publication does not imply any endorsement by the Unicode Consortium. For general information on Unicode Technical Notes, see http://www.unicode.org/notes.


The body of this note is contained in the file "indic-overview.pdf".