[Unicode]   Technical Notes

Unicode Technical Note #10

An Introduction to Indic Scripts

Version 2
Authors Richard Ishida
Date 16 January 2015 [link updated 9 October 2018]
This Version http://www.unicode.org/notes/tn10/tn10-2.html
Previous Version http://www.unicode.org/notes/tn10/tn10-1.html
Latest Version http://www.unicode.org/notes/tn10


This Technical Note provides an introduction to the major Indic scripts used in India. They include Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Kannada, Malayalam, Oriya, Tamil, and Telugu.

After some historical and phonetic background, the document provides:

  1. a survey of the visual characteristics of these scripts,
  2. a summary of practical ways in which those characteristics are supported using Unicode.

An alternative, HTML version of this document that adds some interactive features for the reader can be found at http://r12a.github.io/scripts/indic-overview/.


The body of this note is contained in the file "indic-overview-2.pdf".